top of page


1998-99 Chatham-Kent Major Atom Cyclones


SPORT | Hockey

The Chatham-Kent Cyclones had a tremendous four-year run with a predominately homegrown Chatham base roster, but the 1998-99 season stood above the rest.
As Major Atoms, this group of 10 and 11 year-olds won the Ontario Alliance 'AAA' Hockey League and Playoff championships, the North American International Silver Stick and Wayne Gretzky International 'AAA' tournaments. They were semifinalists in the Ontario Hockey Federation Atom ‘AAA’ Cup.
The team compiled an overall 58-9-10 record for the year.
The Cyclones never lost a league or playoff game after November 19th, 1998, including an undefeated 10-0-1 record in the playoffs which included sweeps of Hamilton in the semifinals and Waterloo in the finals.
It was their second of an unprecedented three straight Alliance 'AAA' league and playoff championships as the core of this team accomplished the feat as Minor Atoms in 1998 and Minor Peewees in 2000.
The Cyclones were invited to the 1999 OHF Atom ‘AAA’ Cup where they complied a 3-1 record against the best teams in Ontario – the Peterborough Minor Petes (OMHA), North York Rangers (Metro Toronto) and host Vaughan Kings – as they lost to the eventual champion Petes 2-1 in overtime in the semifinals.
The Cyclones made Chatham history by winning their second straight North American International Silver Stick tournament championship in Sarnia in 1999. Posting a 4-0-1 record, they won their pool before defeating Oakville 4-1 in the semifinals and Mississauga 3-1 in the championship game. They became the first and only back-to-back 'AAA' Silver Stick champions after winning as Minor Atoms a year earlier.
Wes Cunningham, Josh Johnston and both goalies Max VanHooren and Brady Morrison were named Silver Stick All-Stars in 1999.
The Wayne Gretzky International 'AAA' Tournament championship was also their second straight championship as they won as Minor Atoms a year earlier. Later as Pee Wees, they competed in the 42nd World Peewee Championship in Quebec City.
Team Members:
Meghan Agosta became a three-time Olympic Gold Medalist with the Canadian National Women's hockey team.
Mike Roelofsen was selected 12th overall in the 2003 Ontario Hockey League draft by Belleville.
Wes Cunningham was chosen 23rd overall by the OHL Jr ‘A’ Owen Sound Attack.
Brady Morrison was not drafted but became a starting goalie for three years with Ottawa 67’s and Kingston Frontenacs.
Tyler Roeszler played for Cornell University and was also a player and head coach of the Chatham Maroons
John Aitken, Korey Carter and Josh Johnston played for the Maroons.
The Cyclones' coaching staff was comprised of Don Johnston (Head Coach), Glen Wieringa and Jeff Hay (Assistant Coaches), James Millar and Randy Kellam (Trainers) and Ron Tempich (Manager).

bottom of page