top of page


1987-88 Moose Lodge Pee Wee Hockey


SPORT | Hockey
LEVEL | Major Pee Wee "AA"

Front Row (L to R): Ron Coristine (manager), Jeremy Gabriel, Duane Snelgrove, Brad Bossence, Kelly German, Ryan Coristine, Mark Eaton, Brad Twigg, Brady Blain, Brad Butzer, Rob Reeve, Shadd Smith, Pete Baker (coach), Front Row (L To R): Chris Kendall, Mike Baker, Brandon Boyko, Todd Perrin, Dan Martin, David Hamilton, Absent – Carl Snelgrove (assistant manager)

The 1987-88 Major Pee Wee AA Hockey team, sponsored by the Moose Lodge, had a very successful year. They won 4 tournaments, the Chatham Friendship Tournament, one in Hamilton, one in Fraser, Michigan tournament, and the very prestigious North American Silver Stick Tournament held in Port Huron, Michigan.

The Silver Stick Tournament was made up of the winners of forty-seven Regional Tournaments played throughout North America and involved virtually all age groups and levels of competition. The Pee Wees, competing in the highest level (AA), won the Regional Tournament in Watford, Ontario by defeating London Farnham 3-2 in overtime in the semi-finals and beating Hamilton 3-2 in the finals. At the North American AA Tournament, they lost their first game to Port Huron 4-2 but won their second game against New Jersey. In the playoffs they beat Sarnia 5-1 in the quarter-finals and Belleville 3-1in the semi-finals. In the finals they beat Madison, Wisconsin 5-2 to win this prestigious international tournament. Three Chatham players goaltender David Hamilton, forward Brandon Boyko and defenceman Shadd Smith were named to the all-star team.

In league play, the Pee Wees won the Bluewater League championship to qualify for the Ontario Minor Hockey Association playdowns. They defeated Sarnia, St. Thomas, and Hamilton, each in 3 straight games, to reach the quarterfinals. They eliminated Scarborough in 2 straight games to go to the semi-finals where they beat Stratford in 3 straight games. In the finals against Belleville they won the first 2 games, lost the third and then won the last game 1-0 behind David Hamilton’s shutout and Brandon Boyko’s second period goal. With this win they became OMHA Major Pee Wee AA Champions. The team was clearly the best as they dominated the playdowns with an overall playoff record of 18 wins and 1 loss.

bottom of page