top of page


1974-75 JMSS Boys Basketball Team


SPORT | Basketball

Front Row:  Matt Ross, Frank Oostveen, Bob Oostveen, George Denkers, Craig Jones, Back Row:  Larry Lahey (coach), John Meko (scorer), Gleyn Hughes, Ed Rybansky, Mike Kuni, Calvin Antaya, Frank Rusal, Mark Meko (statistician), Don Hosfeld (statistician),  Absent: Graham Kemble (timer)

These 1974-75 Panthers were the first Chatham high school team to win a provincial (OFSAA) championship in any sport. At OFSAA “AA” in Timmins they went undefeated in five games and beat Woodstock College Ave. Secondary School 65-45 in the title game. The team had earlier defeated Windsor W. D. Lowe S. S. 86-72 to become the first Chatham school to defeat a Windsor school for the senior boys SWOSSAA basketball championship.

In 1973 the Ontario Federation of Schools Athletic Association expanded to three divisions (AAA, AA, A) from the existing two. In 1974-75 McGregor, a “AA” school competed well against “AAA” teams. Windsor Lowe, a “AAA” school who lost to McGregor by 14 points, lost by only 1 point to the eventual champions in the OFSAA “AAA” tournament. McGregor also defeated Tillsonburg Glendale who was third at OFSAA “AAA”.

In all, the Panthers, coached by Larry Lahey, went through their regular season and playoffs undefeated, winning their last 17 games to finish the year with a 33-8 record. After high school, six of the ten players went on to play on college or university basketball teams.

bottom of page